Stevenash - How Many Mutual Funds Do You Recommend For Your Clients?

Just got to my computer - have been gone-  How many mutual funds?  Not that simple.  Sometimes mutual funds are not used. Other times mutual funds are used exclusively by those incapable of constructing a portfolio with adequate diversification that will provide alpha to the client. Go through pretty extensive discussion with client on risk/reward before making recommendations.  I have portfolios with several mutual funds and others with none.   But in actuality, shouldn't I be asking you that question so I know what the proper procedures are?  After all, I am just a glorified salesman and you are a highly compensated individual in a competitive industry.  But honestly, if you think you are setting a trap here, you would be well served to go in another direction.

Some clients have several mutual funds eh? Would that include multiple large cap strategies benchmarked against the S&P? Or maybe some small cap? Maybe sector specific mutual funds? ie.. Healthcare, TMT, Utilities?

What's your views on the current interest rate environment and how should investors best position their selves in the search for yield? What trends are you seeing in this asset class?