BISD athletics cut?

fox

WOW!  Cut out what could be the one and only thing that keeps a lot of kids off the streets and prevents them from doing wrong and actually gives them a REASON to "make the grade" and keep on keepin on!!!  I know the article did say its not just athletics being looked at to compensate for the budget deficient and that is only fair.  I agree that there needs to be cuts all across the board; I just hate that the KIDS are having to pay the price for the ADULTS sticky fingers.

...they definitely won't be cutting all sports... I'm pretty confident in that.

I've been saying for several years that the BISD Police should've BEEN cut. They don't serve much purpose and IMO not necessary....

I have always thought the same thing about the BISD Police Dept.  Then again, its easy for me to say that considering I don't have any children going to that school district.  I know that many districts, including my own WOS, have police officers at games and events at the school.  If needed, there are also, at times, a police officer at the school during the day.  I would think that is more economical then having an entire "police force" on duty all of the time. 

Is there anyone out there that can give figures on this?  How much for on compus, full time, school employed police force VS using the City police dept?

Being a former BISD kid, there wasn't a BISD Police force back then and things operated pretty well. If there was a problem, the real poli e officers are called in and/or a coach or male teach was called in to stop the confusion. Also, parents were more involved and proactive on a lot of situations.

The current BISD police are always seen doing nothing... Some of thwm do a piss poor job doing their job even when a situation presents itself. Also, its been rumored for several years now that there are many of the BISD police that's doing a lot of inappropriate things toward and around the students..