I Simply Feel Lost

I have an empty feeling in my stomach that I can't shake. The tragic loss of a young QB followed by the untimely death of the grand old leader of my beloved Newton Eagles. Newton's longtime (55+ years) home PA announcer Sam Collins retired just two weeks ago also. I simply feel lost. I have looked forward with great enthusiasm each fall since 1967, when I started playing the game in the seventh grade, to the sounds, sights, and smells of of each football season. My son and I both played for Coach Barbay as well as had every home game called by Sam Collins for both of us. I know the season will continue and there can always be new traditions and other seasons, but right now I just have this empty feeling. I was talking with my son yesterday and we got to wondering how many peoples lives have been touched by these three folks. After I hung up the phone I said a little prayer just thanking God for being given such an opportunity for all these years. The feeling in my stomach will fade I got to believe, just not today.

Champ I can't say I know the way you feel exactly,But I know that feeling..I lost my Mother,A Sister and a Brother in a 3 year span...It's a feeling you can't describe unless you have been there..I know God has reasons that we don't understand somtimes,But still we have to put our faith where the real victory is...In God... I cherish the memories I was blessed with for having them with me..Prayers for Newton,And the Barbay family...

Guest bleed orange
Great post both of you guys. I played against coach Barbay and the Newton Eagles. Many years after I graduated I officiated a subvarsity game in Newton. I talked to coach Barbay, he remembered me and I asked him " coach" how do you win year in year out? His reply was "Keith, we still do things the old school way here in Newton. I will never forget that, he was right. I will miss you coach.