How was your opening weekend of gun season?

ST413

We had 3 deer n 1 hog taken west of Lumberton, all were personal best, 18"8pt, 16"8pt, my 7y/o nephew got his first deer (doe) I had 9 in food plot at the same time along with a 17" 9pt, another legal buck showed at the feeder a little later, we had 6 hunters Sat morn all but 1 saw deer and IMO the 1 that didn't was in the best stand, I'm thinking the hogs have taken it over the last week... 

[quote name="bullets13" post="704661" timestamp="1257995291"]
my season opens this weekend.  it's my first time to hunt since i was 10.  i'm hoping to get a shot at something, [size=11pt][b]but last year i sat in a stand for a few times with my dad and really just enjoyed being out and watching what walked past[/b][/size].
[/quote]

That right there sounds like a great hunt. Anything else is just a bonus.

[quote name="bullets13" post="704756" timestamp="1258003360"]
my thoughts exactly, tvc.  it's hard to beat a weekend of barbecue, poker, hunting, and the great outdoors (plus satellite tv to catch some college football).
[/quote]

I think you just described heaven.  ;D

I am on a new lease around Alto and I saw a doe, my son saw a 4 point and a doe. We are the only ones on the lease and we didn't have time to get up there before opening weekend. So opening day we put up a couple of tree stands and a tripod. Threw out a little corn and saw deer that Sunday morning, I was pretty encouraged. We also put out 2 old game cams we checked them 7 days later. I reluctantly put out some Deercane at the request of my 13 year old, the doe is pawing at a spot on the ground where we poured it.

[IMG]http://i144.photobucket.com/albums/r180/mabethea/PIC_0007-1.jpg[/img]

[IMG]http://i144.photobucket.com/albums/r180/mabethea/PIC_0013-1.jpg[/img]