Houston Astros-2017 World Champs

I tend  to doubt that Houston - under current management - is going to be willing the make the financial commitment that will be required to get to the World Series anytime in the near future.  I did get my hopes up when they won the 7 or 8 games in a row but now we are back to the "normal" Astro's baseball of late.  While I am by no means an expert on the professional baseball world it looks like it will be another long year for the 'stros.  

If the Astros are to succeed 3 things will have to happen: (1) Most of the young guns brought in will have to become above average major league players, (2) When these young players do succeed the Astros will have to be willing to reward them with competitive contracts (this is where I think they will fail), and they will have to be almost perfect in their 1st round selections the next few years.   

While I hope I am wrong they did let go a few good young players last year to beef up their minor league system - that might help in he long run but not many teams have made the WS and not hit the free agent market early and often.

On a note on the artilcle: While George Springers HR's are impressive his .240 BA is less than desirable.  

I tend to doubt that Houston - under current management - is going to be willing the make the financial commitment that will be required to get to the World Series anytime in the near future. I did get my hopes up when they won the 7 or 8 games in a row but now we are back to the "normal" Astro's baseball of late. While I am by no means an expert on the professional baseball world it looks like it will be another long year for the 'stros.