Jump to content
Sign in to follow this  


Recommended Posts




2018 Record: 16-0 Overall, 7-0 District

Class 6A, Division I State Champion


It was only fitting that a story book season have a story book ending.  With no time left on the clock, Dematrius Davis and A.J. Carter connected on a Hail Mary pass which will go down in Texas high school football history and gave the Mustangs a state championship.  This year, Head Coach Jon Kay brings back a team that is also highly touted and give the folks in East Houston hopes that a second consecutive state title is in store.


Head Coach: Jon Kay

Assistant Coaches: Willie Gaston (Offensive Coordinator/Quarterbacks), Garrett Cross (Defensive Coordinator/Linebackers), Shaun Wynn (Defensive Line), Cory Laxen (Strength and Conditioning/Offensive line), Sheldon Bennight (Running Backs),  Nick Flores (Defensive Backs), Theadis Reagins (Defensive Backs), Steve Lewis (Defensive Line), Ruben Amaya (Offensive Line), Lamon Atkins (Quarterbacks/Freshman Head Coach), Patrick Robertson (Defensive Backs), Justin Isadore (Linebackers)


Six starters return to the North Shore offense in 2019.  Returning to lead the Mustang attack will be junior quarterback Dematrius Davis.  Senior all state running back Zach Evans also returns to head the North Shore rushing attack along with senior running back John Gentry.  Junior wide receiver Shadrach Banks (1st team all-district) and senior wide out Zoran Rideaux return to lead a group of receivers which will also include senior receiver Ismael Fuller and junior receiver Charles King.  Seniors Damieon George (1st team all-district) and Fausto Castellon (2nd team all-district) return to man an offensive line which will also include junior Ed'Zavier Deblaw and seniors Matthew Boult and Javoine Roberts.


The North Shore defense will have some growing up to do as only three starters return to the 2019 defense.  The Mustangs will be particular young up front as senior lineman Jaden Rudolph will be joined by juniors Alonzo Brown, Aaron Brown and Broc LeBlanc.  Senior linebacker Corey Flagg (1st team all-district) will lead an equally young linebacker corp which will also include junior Darius Clark and seniors Jermaine Caldwell and Wendell Demery.  Seniors Upton Stout (1st team all-district) and JoJo Wilson (2nd team all-district) return to guide a Mustang secondary which will also include seniors Jordan Polart and Marcus Cockrell as well as sophomore Denver Harris.

Special Teams:

Senior John Villalobos (1st team all-district kicker) will do the both the kicking and punting for North Shore.  Cockrell will be the Mustangs' primary kick returner.


Aug. 29 - Katy, 7:00 pm

Sept. 5 - Fort Bend Ridge Point (TDECU), 7:00 pm

Sept. 13 - Spring Westfield, 7:00 pm

Sept. 20 - OPEN

Sept. 27 - La Porte, 7:00 pm*

Oct. 4 - at Sheldon C.E. King, 7:00 pm*

Oct. 11 - at Deer Park, 7:00 pm*

Oct. 18 - Baytown Sterling, 7:00 pm*

Oct. 24 - at Beaumont West Brook, 7:00 pm*

Nov. 1 - Beaumont United, 7:00 pm*

Nov. 8 - at Channelview, 7:00 pm*

Share this post

Link to post
Share on other sites

The Sho's Defense will indeed have to "grow up" in a hurry if they want to win State again. The growing process begins in earnest on a Thursday night in August against Katy. Hopefully Zach Evans and the rest of the O can aid the defense by controlling the clock until the D's maturation takes place.    

Share this post

Link to post
Share on other sites

Join the conversation

You can post now and register later. If you have an account, sign in now to post with your account.

Reply to this topic...

×   Pasted as rich text.   Paste as plain text instead

  Only 75 emoji are allowed.

×   Your link has been automatically embedded.   Display as a link instead

×   Your previous content has been restored.   Clear editor

×   You cannot paste images directly. Upload or insert images from URL.

Sign in to follow this  

  • Member Statistics

    Total Members
    Most Online
    Slim Pickins
    Newest Member
    Slim Pickins

  • Create New...