Sign in to follow this  


Recommended Posts




2018 Record: 6-6 Overall, 3-2 District

11-4A-I Co-Runner Up


The Lumberton Raiders went from being the small fish in Class 5A to a more equitable Class 4A, Division I.  The change suited Chris Babin's Raiders as the boys from Lumberton, despite being heavily plagued by injury, qualified for playoffs for the first time since 2015.  The Raiders return six starters on offense and four on defense, as well as several part time starters and players from a 9-0-1 junior varsity team, in an effort to make consecutive playoff appearances for the first time since 2007-2008.


Head Coach: Chris Babin

Assistant Coaches:  Aaron Credeur (Offensive Coordinator), Chase McDonald (Defensive Coordinator), Brian Broussard (Assistant Head Coach/Defensive Line), Jason Hopson (Offensive Line), Radi Verrett (Offensive Line), Bud Doyles (Tight Ends), Corbin Walters (Inside Linebackers), Josh Porter (Outside Linebackers), Andy Brown (Defensive Backs), Artie Trahan (Defensive Line)


Six starters return to the Lumberton offense in 2019 and will adjust to the switch to the Slot-T.  Junior quarterback Drake Boykin (2nd team all-district at running back), who started 9 games in 2018 due to injury to starter Jace Nelson, will take over the full time duties this year.  Senior running backs Blaine Leblanc and David Barthol and junior running back Clay Jenkins will share the rushing load for Lumberton.  Joining them will be senior fullbacks Skylar Hussey (2nd team all-district) and Adam Sellers.  Senior wide out Nolan Yarbro and senior tight end Mark Daluz.  Senior linemen Jason Coffey, Tyler Hendrix and Hayes Chizer will be featured on the Raider offensive line.


Four starters return to the Raider 4-2-5 defense in 2019.  Senior defensive tackles Waylon Drake (1st team all-district) and Champ Roach (2nd team all-district) will lead an otherwide young Lumberton defensive line.  The linebacker corp should be a strength as senior Walter Young will be joined by junior Cade Danna and sophomore Holden Rhodes.  Senior Brittain Alfaro (2nd team all-district) will anchor a longer Raider secondary which will also include senior Cole White and juniors Hunter Fesco and Tristan Kersh.

Special Teams:

Sellers will do the place kicking for Lumberton while Coffey will do the punting.  Leblanc will be the primary kick returner.


Aug. 30 - at Jasper, 7:00 pm

Sept. 6 - at Kirbyvile, 7:00 pm

Sept. 13 - Houston Furr, 7:00 pm

Sept. 20 - Tomball Concordia Lutheran, 7:30 pm

Sept. 27 - Silsbee, 7:30 pm

Oct. 4 - OPEN

Oct. 11 - at Huffman Hargrave, 7:00 pm*

Oct. 18 - at Livingston, 7:00 pm*

Oct. 25 - Bridge City, 7:00 pm*

Nov. 1 - at Splendora, 7:00 pm*

Nov, 8 - Little Cypress-Mauriceville, 7:00 pm* 

Share this post

Link to post
Share on other sites
Sign in to follow this  

  • Member Statistics

    Total Members
    Most Online
    Newest Member

  • Posts

    • Did you read the article? He said what he said, not me. 😎☕
    • This will be Shaka last year. I can almost guarantee it after this debacle. Im not a Horn fan and i was embarrassed watching it. 
    • Didn’t realize 1 player is the whole team... thought basketball was a team sport. 🐸☕️
    • Past WRS winners: 1993: Dexter Hebert, Kelly 1994: Jay McGuire, Silsbee 1995: Jeffery Spikes, Burkeville 1996: Elijah Burkins, Thomas Jefferson 1997: Bryan Bock, Bridge City 1998: Offense: Chip Ambres, West Brook; Defense: Charles Sias, WO-S 1999: Offense: Beaux Daville, Orangefield; Defense: Rod Gulley, Newton 2000: Offense: Dustin Long, PN-G; Defense: Gayron Allen, WO-S 2001: Offense: Sean Yoder, Nederland; Defense: Jermaine Hope, WO-S 2002: Offense: Tony Eckert, Lumberton; Defense: Ricky Wilson, Lincoln 2003: Offense: Matt Peebles, Bridge City; Defense: William Bryant, Jasper 2004: Offense: Jamaal Charles, P.A. Memorial; Defense: William Morrissey, Silsbee 2005: Offense: Jamaal Charles, P.A. Memorial; Defense: Brian West, Ozen 2006: Offense: Kenneth Beasley, WO-S; Defense: Sean Weatherspoon, Jasper 2007: Offense: Micah Mosley, Nederland; Defense: Earl Thomas, WO-S 2008: Offense: Cody Hussey, Lumberton; Defense: Tramain Thomas, East Chambers 2009: Offense: Christian Micheal, West Brook Defense: Kevin Robinson, WO-S 2010: Offense: Jeremy Johnson, Silsbee; Defense: Jacoby Hale, Central 2011: Offense: Fred Ford, Kirbyville; Defense: Colin Garrett, West Brook 2012: Offense: Terrence Singleton, P.A. Memorial; Defense: Corbin Carr, Nederland 2013: Offense: Montana Quirante, Vidor; Defense: Montana Quirante, Vidor 2014: Offense: Patrick Reed, Silsbee; DeShawn Washington, Nederland 2015: Offense: Michael Jacquet, Central; Defense: Deionte Thompson, WO-S 2016: Offense: Jack Dallas, WO-S; Defense: Steven Tims, WO-S 2017: Offense: Calvin Tyler, Silsbee; Defense: Kary Vincent, PA Memorial 2018: Offense: Roschon Johnson, PN-G; Defense: Corbin Foster, Newton 2019: Offense: Darwin Barlow, Newton; Defense: Darrell Hawkins, Jr., West Brook
  • Topics

  • Create New...