Football Coach Bill Curry: We choose what we worship

jv_coach

This is the hidden content, please

Football Coach Bill Curry: We Choose What We Worship

Man has always worshipped. If we follow the course of history, we see that the objects of man's worship have varied from the ridiculous to God. As I studied history in high school, I felt that many men had been foolish in choosing what they would worship. I decided that my country must be extraordinary in that our people knew who ought to be worshipped, and how to worship Him.

16201.jpg

Georgia State University

Bill Curry in 2012.

I actually began to take pride in this knowledge, and to look around myself for the first time. As I looked at the lives of people, I came to the realization that they did not worship God at all, but rather chose objects to worship that were more foolish than any I had read about. I saw boys that actually worshipped automobiles, liquor or the idea of sex. I realized that many men active in my church had placed money first in their lives. I came to know girls that lived only to achieve popularity.

Many may think that men and women could not possibly worship such things, but I think whatever a person places first in his or her life is what he or she worships.

All these thoughts came to me rather suddenly, and it was awhile before I stopped to take a look at myself. What I saw horrified me. For almost twenty years, I had but one god: myself. I saw that almost everything I had ever done had been for number one: Bill Curry. I worked hard in football, basketball and baseball for one reason - to glorify Bill Curry.