Sign in to follow this  
Followers 0
CCRed

Question ?

10 posts in this topic

Watching the college softball games.  Do the left-handed slap hitters have to have both feet in the batters box when they hit the ball ?

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
11 hours ago, CCRed said:

Watching the college softball games.  Do the left-handed slap hitters have to have both feet in the batters box when they hit the ball ?

That is correct. The hitter is out if one or both feet are out of the box at contact. Only if Blue sees it and calls it!! 

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
4 hours ago, show me the money said:

That is correct. The hitter is out if one or both feet are out of the box at contact. Only if Blue sees it and calls it!! 

Your right about only if they call it.  Seems like it would be an easy call for the third base umpire.  

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Usually just too close to call.  I think the umps want to positive before they call it.  Allthough I recently saw a changup thrown to a slapper, and I swear she was halfway to the pitchers mound and it wasn't called either.  

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

It usually takes an opposing coach to bring it to the umps attention before they will really start paying close attention to it. You will notice a lot of slappers try and erase the chalk at the front of the box. I noticed a couple of the Baylor girls step out in front of the plate trying to get to the outside pitch. One was called out! 

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

I was wondering about this the other day.  If the slapper's foot is in the air out of the box are they out.  slapper.PNG.2f029b6cb8aaa65883813c6e9e07

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
23 hours ago, Lightning/Eagle said:

No

7-6-D When an entire foot is touching the ground completely outside the lines of the batters box at the time the ball makes contact with the bat the batter is out. It is a dead ball and runners are not allowed to advance.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
2 hours ago, show me the money said:

7-6-D When an entire foot is touching the ground completely outside the lines of the batters box at the time the ball makes contact with the bat the batter is out. It is a dead ball and runners are not allowed to advance.

Thanks, I didn't feel like looking it up. One of my daughters was a slapper and I knew that was how she was instructed. Of course she was called out a couple times. Man I miss those days! But I do have a granddaughter just now starting ( 6U allstar) so she will keep me busy from the stands now :).

show me the money likes this

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Create an account or sign in to comment

You need to be a member in order to leave a comment

Create an account

Sign up for a new account in our community. It's easy!


Register a new account

Sign in

Already have an account? Sign in here.


Sign In Now
Sign in to follow this  
Followers 0